In 2005 The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) introduced a practice standards scheme for all veterinary practices in the UK.

The RCVS scheme divides veterinary practices into three Tiers.

Tier 1: Core standards of practice

Tier 2: Middle level of equipment and training

Tier 3: Veterinary Hospitals – the highest level of standards of staff, equipment and management.

All Veterinary Hospitals have been inspected by Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons inspectors to ensure that they meet the standards laid down by the RCVS, at the highest “Tier 3” level.

But what does this mean for you?

The vets and nurses in Veterinary Hospitals must fulfill annual training requirements to continue providing top quality care to your pets. But even the most dedicated vet cannot work without a high standard of modern equipment and nursing support. The Veterinary Hospital title guarantees that your vet has the facilities to help your pet even in the most difficult circumstances.

There is a long list of requirements for Veterinary Hospitals but some of the most important are:

  • 24-hour nursing cover

Only Veterinary Hospitals are guaranteed to have staff available to treat in-patients 24 hours daily.

  • Intensive Care Facilities

Only Veterinary Hospitals are guaranteed to have intensive care equipment such as oxygen therapy units and intravenous fluid pumps.

  • Operating facilities and diagnostic equipment

Only Veterinary Hospitals are required to have dedicated operating facilities, ultrasound machines, endoscopy facilities and ECG machines.

These mandatory facilities, combined with highly trained staff, allow Veterinary Hospitals to offer the very best of care.